Dominant hand dependency?

Devoted to the discussion of skills applicable in an urban environment

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

KentsOkay
Favorite Zombie Movies: Shawn of the Dead

Dominant hand dependency?

Post by KentsOkay » Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:21 am

So I sprained my right hand the other day, and it sucked. I install car audio for a living and I couldn't do ANYTHING. Made me wonder, when the going gets rough and you put a dominant hand out of commission, how shit out of luck are you? Do any of you prepare for this possible sub disaster?

This incident prompted me to chop some wood lefty yesterday. When I started it felt all wrong and I wanted to do it with my right instead. Eventually I realized I was still standing like I was chopping right handed. This helped me improve to from awful to bad at lefty axe use. I'm going to try and do more left handed, I don't expect to be writing like Leonardo, but hopefully it will make me less useless when I can't do things right.
0122358 wrote:so we moved a thread to maintain OPSEC on a fictional vid game so our team doesnt get kill as easily by possible spies...fuckin sweet

Unofficial FB for ZSC XXX http://www.facebook.com/groups/156431031119773

ZombiePlace
Favorite Zombie Movies: Day of the Dead (1985), Dawn of the Dead (1978), Dawn of the Dead (remake)

Re: Dominant hand dependency?

Post by ZombiePlace » Tue Nov 05, 2013 3:51 am

My grandfather was ambidextrous but I am not, so since I was a little kid every once in a while i try to do tricks I can do with my dominant hand with my left hand.

I am better with most with my left hand, so yeah... try to do little exercises and tricks
ZombiePlace

When in doubt; decapitate!

Browning 35
BANNED
Favorite Zombie Movies: Dawn of the Dead (2004).
28 Days Later.
Planet Terror.
Dawn of the Dead (1978).
Night of the Living Dead (1968)
Omega Man

Post by Browning 35 » Tue Nov 05, 2013 8:33 am