Door Jamb Armour, Security Screen Door , Install and review.

Topics in this category pertain to planning. Discussions include how to prepare yourself, your family and your community for catastrophes and what you plan to do when they hit you.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

unslung

Door Jamb Armour, Security Screen Door , Install and review.

Post by unslung » Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:07 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EQWDZzQfe7I" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
This is the entire door jamb armor from the factory. This is the universal kit with two separate deadbolt brackets, two separate hinge brackets, one door jamb bracket, and a bag of 3 1/2" wood screws. I purchased this unit from Lowes hardware for $108.26 plus tax. They do not stock this item at any of the stores around my location so i had to order it in from the door department, which took about a week. I have never used or seen this product before, have no affiliation with this company, and do not profit from selling or installing any type of security products.

2 deadbolt brackets and screws.

2 hinge brackets and 1 door jamb bracket.

This is the crappy side door to my house, the door frame shakes when you close the door. This is an inward opening door. A twelve year old girl could kick it open in approx. six seconds.

The woman that lived here before me had a douche bag boyfriend that apparently liked to kick in doors. This busted mess is what is left.

Disassemble the handle and deadbolt face from the door using a screwdriver.

Leave the door cross bolts in place.

Try not to break the deadbolt cross pin like some dumb ass that i know. Old and broken on right , new and expensive on the left.

Slide doorknob covers over door knob hole, and screw in place then reinstall doorknob and deadbolt faces. This operation took about 17 minutes ( trip to the hardware store for a new deadbolt not withstanding )