How To: Winter Camping

Topics in this category pertain to planning. Discussions include how to prepare yourself, your family and your community for catastrophes and what you plan to do when they hit you.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

Murph

How To: Winter Camping

Post by Murph » Fri Jan 15, 2010 8:55 am

I've done a winter camps in the past, and it can be a good experience or it can be f'n miserable. Key factor is in how much you plan ahead. I'm by no means an expert, and I'm sure there is plenty that could be added to this so feel free to do so.

In no particular order, the most important things to address are Food, Heat, Shelter, and Clothing.

Food: Due to the fact that your going to be cold to some degree, your body is going to be using up a lot of calories trying to keep itself warm. This means your calorie intake per meal should be more than what your using. Big, hearty, warm meals are the key here. It's also important to stay hydrated, most people wouldn't think it in the winter, but your body needs water regardless to operate right. Warm beverages are a plus, but cold water is better than nothing.

Heat: Your main source of heat will be your camp fire. It's okay to have more fire wood than you think you'll need, it can always be used later, or by the next guy. As a back up small propane heaters work very well. They're easy to use, and you don't have to worry as much about burning the forest down. If you have multiple people try to schedule a rotating fire watch overnight, waking up in the morning and trying to get a fire going sucks.

Shelter: Not much to say here, most everyone has tents. If you have a choice between a larger or smaller one, go large. Chances are it wouldn't need to be staked down (the ground could be frozen.) You'll probably need extra room for larger sleeping bags, blankets, etc. Plus if you need to change clothes, you'd want to do that inside the tent.