New here, but don't know where to start...

Topics in this category pertain to planning. Discussions include how to prepare yourself, your family and your community for catastrophes and what you plan to do when they hit you.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

icebrain

New here, but don't know where to start...

Post by icebrain » Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:52 pm

So I've come to the conclusion that I probably wouldn't last too long in a PAW setting... and now it's time to fix that.

However, I have no idea where to start; I was wondering if someone could give me a hand?

My situation is as follows: I live in an apartment in a reasonably-developed suburb area of Savannah, GA. I have nearby access to "fresh" water and there are deer and other game in the area. I'm married, no kids, and nearest other family is a brother-in-law about 50 miles away. I just moved here permanently a few months ago, so I don't really have a bug-out location.

I have little experience living outdoors; I can cook but my knowledge of preparing game is only theoretical. I'm pretty good with my hands (mechanical skills, carpentry, etc).

As far as equipment, the only things I know would be of certain use are my firearms--currently, an AR-15 carbine, two .22LR rifles, a Taurus PT111 9mm, and my wife's S&W .38 Chief's Special. I'm planning on adding a couple more guns (couple rifles and maybe a 1911) in the next year or two as the funds come available, and I'll continue stocking up on ammo and magazines. I also have a sailboat, but it's not quite workable yet.

Given the above, where should I start?

Thanks for the help everyone,

Bob

raptor
ZS Global Moderator
ZS Global Moderator

Post by raptor » Sun Feb 10, 2008 8:15 pm

The first step you should take is to identify the individual risks you face and start preparing for those with the greatest probability of occurring first.