What does a month of food really look like?

Topics in this category pertain to planning. Discussions include how to prepare yourself, your family and your community for catastrophes and what you plan to do when they hit you.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

Merovech

What does a month of food really look like?

Post by Merovech » Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:41 pm

I have looked in my 'prep' pantry many times and thought to myself, "We could stretch that a month if we had to..." WRONG! I think many others may have made the same mistake on multiple occasions, maybe they have really never seen a REAL month's worth of food... I certainly hadn't and Ive been on this board and others for more than 6 years.

As with my other posts, this will get wordy. I am an author by trade and when I need something to 'jump start' me, I write up something here on ZS I think is worthwhile... it gets me punching the keys.

So, our topic is, What does a month of food really look like?

You could stack, Red Beans and Rice, Peanut Butter, MREs and Daltrex Rations ceiling high and be very efficient calorie wise. But are you really wanting to eat nothing but red beans and rice for a solid month? Have you lived off of MREs for 3 days, much less a month?

I take a realistic approach to what I store. I store what I use for the most part. When my wife or I need something for the kitchen, we raid our 'stash' and then add it to the grocery list. This way things get rotated fairly quickly. I also take a tip I learned here and spend an extra $10 a grocery trip on 'preps'. Buying just a little extra. It is amazing how things grow quickly that way.

My goal here is for a balanced diet, and to show for real what a months worth of food for one person really looks like all laid out.

This is one month of food for a single person.

Breads, Nuts and Meat:

1 Large Tub of Planters Mixed Nuts: 9690 Calories
6 Cans of B&M Bread in a Can: 6240 Calories (Best Prep Food EVER, no lie)