Pressure Canning

For all your pre- and post-PAW food and beverage recipes. Just because it keeps you alive doesn't mean it shouldn't be tasty.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

GeneralDiscontent

Pressure Canning

Post by GeneralDiscontent » Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:20 pm

Hey all -

The fiancee & I (okay, mostly her :wink:) have been doing some pressure canning lately, so I thought I would do a brief write up.

**DISCLAIMER** **DISCLAIMER** **DISCLAIMER**

I am a rank amateur when it comes to canning. It is entirely possible and probably likely that I'll make some mistakes , omit some details, or make some typos. My intention here is to give a BRIEF overview of the canning process and possibly inspire some ZS'ers to try it for themselves. This is not meant to be a step-by-step, be-all-end-all guide to canning. Messing up with canning is a good way to make yourself really really sick - the MOST IMPORTANT THING is to follow the instructions in your canner's manual and the guidelines in the Ball Blue Book of Canning.

**END DISCLAIMER**

Pressure canning is a great method for preserving fruits, vegetables, meats, or poultry. She had done some water bath canning in the past few years, but that is only suitable mostly for pickled vegetables and tomato-based items. With food prices rising steadily, we decided to stock up on as much meat as we could when it was cheap, but we live in a townhouse and don't have room for a chest freezer. However, we were able to clear out some room in the utility closet for a makeshift pantry to store jars.

We bought a 23-quart Presto pressure cooker & canner from Amazon for $70 - the finacee assures me that this is an awesome price for a pressure canner this size. We asked around in our family and everyone used to have a pressure canner, but apparently it's becoming a lost art, 'cause they all disappeared over the years. You might have luck at garage sales or thrift stores.