Lights, cargo and sound systems, oh my! Or: Advice from the Hive Mind?

Discussions about the devices that supply a means for movement of people and goods.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

Dogan
ZS Member
ZS Member

Lights, cargo and sound systems, oh my! Or: Advice from the Hive Mind?

Post by Dogan » Fri Jan 24, 2020 3:02 pm

Howdy all!

Just bought a new to me Hybrid Ford Escape yesterday. I'd like to maintain my MPG as much as possible (I work as a caregiver, VA doesn't pay mileage for the work I do) and the modifications it needs to suit me are pretty minor.

Right off the top: Lights. Gonna convert all the lights I can on it to LED including headlights. Also thinking a grill mounted LED bar will have less impact on MPG than roof mounted.

Cargo and sound: Hoping these can go hand in hand. In my Forester I just carried a big plain cooler that had my first aid, food, fire starters, survival equipment and change of clothes, with Datrex, road flares, jumper cables and snow chains all stuffed into the area below the rear cargo. As the Escape is a hybrid, that space is taken up by the battery pack, and the trunk is just small enough that my cooler would make it interesting trying to fit wheelchairs and walkers. So my ideal would be to build a box that would occlude the least used driver's side window in the trunk, both to hold most of those items but also a subwoofer. If anyone has recommendations or resources about where to start in this, that'd be awesome and most appreciated. No cargo rack, cargo box because of the negative effect on fuel economy but I plan to get one and not install it unless it's needed.

And that's about it, to be honest. It's already got the seating, ground clearance, full sized spare etc that I want out of a BOV and daily driver.
goofygurl wrote:Dogan – In charge of all things fucked up
Are you ready to die, John Walker?| CLAPTRAP!
Your lucky number has been disconnected.|ASCII biohazard symbol: ☣
Winner of the May/June 2013 ZS Postal Match