I need your opinion on developing a First Aid Course

Discussions of the best (or worst) equipment to have on hand for use in the event of an injury during an emergency.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

Seahorsewhisperer

I need your opinion on developing a First Aid Course

Post by Seahorsewhisperer » Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:07 pm

I'm Chris. This is my first post ever. I need opinions on developing a first aid course. here is the situation. My background is mostly in Combat Medicine as a Combat Medic then Medical Officer in the Army. In the civilian world I was an EMT-I, CFF2, etc..... I am pretty confident about my medical skills.

I currently work as the Safety and Risk manager for a Non Profit that builds schools in austere locations in developing countries. My Team leaders are all Wilderness First Aid Responders, so I am covered on that aspect. Where I am not covered is in my in country staff. I want to just deal with the basics and with the most common injuries and illnesses that we deal with.

Below is a list I put together off the top of my head of topics I would like to cover in a two day course. The conditions we operate in are usually 4-6 hours from the nearest medical facility over rough terrain, river crossings, and unimproved roads.

What would you add or take away from this list and why? I did not include CPR for two reasons. (1)-I am no longer an instructor and (2) if you need CPR 4 hours from a hospital, your dead.

1. Patient Assessment
2. Central Nervous System
3. Respiratory
4. PM
a. Vector Control
b.
c. Diseases
i. Ebola
ii. HIV
iii. Malaria, Dengue, Chikungunya
5. Patient Transport
6. Other
7. Burns
8. Splinting
9. Heat injury
10. Allergic reactions
11. Seizures
12. GI
13. Eye injury
14. Irrigate the eye
15. Circulation
16. Bleeding control
17. Cleaning wounds
18. Bandaging
19. Splinting
20. Snakebite
21. Animal Bites
Just a guy

zXzGrifterzXz