Casio cell phones

Topics on Radio (CB, GMRS, Ham, etc), GPS, Smoke Signals, or whatever else you can use to talk to other people who are not within yelling distance.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

max v
Favorite Zombie Movies: Planet Terror

Casio cell phones

Post by max v » Sun Apr 29, 2012 8:14 am

Hey guys, the other day my phone died after a quick dunk in the bathtub. So after looking online for a waterproof phone it seems the Gzone brand (http://www.casiogzone.com/) really stands out in terms of ruggedness and reliability. Their watches are exceptional but I have no experience with their telecom division so I was wondering if there's anyone here who has used and perhaps abused any of the Casio phones (i.e. Ravine, Ravine2, Brigade, Commando). Mind you this is largely out of curiosity, because as you are probably aware these are strictly US through Verizon. :(

This sick puppy is supposed to take 1 ton of pressure and not cringe
Sealegs wrote: Vehicle of choice, horse #1. 1hp multi fuel engine.

MaconCJ7
ZS Donor
ZS Donor

Re: Casio cell phones

Post by MaconCJ7 » Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:35 am

I currently have the Ravine2. I picked it because it's global rated. It wasn't as easy as just inserting a foreign SIM card, I had to request the unlock code. But, after inputting that, I can now use whatever SIM card I want. I like it. It's rugged enough to handle my abuse (so far), and it's a nice little phone. I wanted the Brigade, but it didn't have GSM capability.

max v

Post by max v » Sun Apr 29, 2012 3:52 pm

Thanks for the input, I just watched a guy on youtube explain the process. Does the ptt function still work on a foreign sim?

zommoz10

Post by zommoz10 » Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:00 pm

All i saw on the vzw website was the gzone commando which isn't waterproof but is mil spec for other things and the ravine which is not a smart phone.
Maybe it's only available in certain markets but I'm curious about it myself.

DJH
ZS Donor
ZS Donor