Winter hiking, any advice

Other provisions not covered above that may make survival easier if your life is tossed out of the norm. This section is for discussing everything from arc welders to underwear.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

bigmattdaddywack
Favorite Zombie Movies: Zombieland, Shaun of the dead, dawn of the dead, 28 days later,Hide and Creep, Night of the living dead, Undead, Return of the Living Dead.
Not truly zombie movies but, Evil Dead I and II, Army of darkness

Winter hiking, any advice

Post by bigmattdaddywack » Fri Nov 20, 2009 5:09 am

I am goin to Wintergeddon in Mo in January. I have plenty of knowledge for camping in the other 3 seasons but would like to know what to take in winter. Any advice would be welcome. This hiking by the way.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ejd2rsXoQSI" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

:)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=grq0rhtbtAw" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Baba Brad

Re: Winter hiking, any advice

Post by Baba Brad » Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:09 am

Never been to Wintergeddon in Mo, but based on my own experiences winter hiking - Layers are your friends. Base layer, intermidiate layer and outer layer. Silk or merlino wool base layer. Wool is generally a good bet, fantastic insulator and sheds water like crazy. Of course, these new fangled synthetics are supposed to be pretty good, but I'll let someone with practical experience vouch for those.

Layer your clothing.
1.S.1.K wrote: :twisted: ZS, It always comes back to sheep.

E

Post by E » Fri Nov 20, 2009 9:23 am

agreed. layering your clothing is essential. High calorie food also helps to keep you warm. Foam pad instead of a blow up mat for sleeping on