Ultimate Melee Blade!

For those who live in areas where firearms are not an option and those that are smart enough to have a back up.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

kenning
Favorite Zombie Movies: "Dawn of the Dead" © 2004

Ultimate Melee Blade!

Post by kenning » Sat Sep 24, 2011 6:49 am

Dear Zombie Hunters!

I'm a newbie in the zombie hunting business, so don't press me so hard if I get some Zombie facts wrong. My very first thread is about a cold steel weapon, that was used for centuries in the heart of Europe, but was quickly forgotten. Until today. And I think, this could be the ultimate self-defence, melee and anti-zombo weapon.

It is the Germanic SEAX. It is also known as "sax" or "scramasax". A certain type of the Sax is called "Longsax", a single edged sword used by German tribes from end 7th up to 11th centuries. And this one I consider the most practical and effective melee design you can imagine. But yes, it's just me, so let's give it a go.

A basic impression:
(SOURCE)

Basic information:
http://forums.dfoggknives.com/index.php?showtopic=15743" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.swordforum.com/forums/showth ... ting-saxes" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;!
http://forums.dfoggknives.com/index.php ... 15369&st=0" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://forums.dfoggknives.com/index.php?showtopic=14054" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Now, what advantages does a Longsax have?

1). Very sturdy practical construction.
Original Longsaxes of 8th century could have complex laminated differentially hardened blades (yes, just like KatAnaS, despite the popular belief European blades were crap), there are even pattern welded ones. But the grips were simple,a wooden tube glued on the tang. Monosteel blades were also common. A very simple but effective design, made to be used as a heavy-duty cut-n-thrusting sword. It will not shatter even if extremely abused, unlike the most Katana grips.