How did I do?

Share a survival experience with us and explain what you learned from it. You might help someone.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

pstash
Favorite Zombie Movies: Love me some Redneck Zombies

How did I do?

Post by pstash » Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:08 pm

Im a volunteer Firefighter for our small town. We got called out to what was said to be a case of alcohol poisoning. It actually turned out to be a cocktail of meds and alcohol that lowered his blood pressure to extreme levels.

This is the first medical call I made alone. Usually we have about 3 people make these types of calls, but i guess everyone was being lazy. I am about a quarter of the way into my EMT-B class and have had some BASIC medical training at the fire station.

When I arrived, the patient was being held up in a sitting position by a family member. He was semi-conscious with rapid, shallow, labored breathing. He was pretty much "Gasping" for air. First, I asked the family member to lay the patient in the recovery position and assisted them in doing so. As we did this it occured to me that there wasn't any vomit anywhere in the vicinity. I am nowhere near experienced enough to start diagnosing patients, but I would think that alcohol poisoning would be accompanied by vomit. This was my first clue that it may not be alcohol poisoning.

I then administered oxygen via non-rebreather @15LPM. This helped drastically stabalize his respirations, although they still were not normal. He also started to become more alert, such as his eyes looking around the room, but still unresponsive to verbal stimuli. At this point I started to take vitals. I got the blood pressure cuff on him just as the Ambulance got there, so i stopped and let them take over.

I had asked all the questions like, past medical history, current meds, allergies (medical and food), history of diabetes etc. while i was administering the oxygen.

Anyone see anything that I did wrong?

bigmattdaddywack