Change of pace in life, have to upgrade EDC habits.

Items to keep you alive in the event you must evacuate: discussions of basic Survival Kits commonly called "Bug Out Bags" or "Go Bags"

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

KnifeStyle

Change of pace in life, have to upgrade EDC habits.

Post by KnifeStyle » Sat Sep 21, 2013 3:21 pm

Very recently, my life has taken some major turns and my lifestyle has had to change considerably. For the last few years I've been a blue collar college student working his way through school, every day I wore jeans and layered jackets that whatever gear I needed. Never without my Chrome satchel which I basically lived out of occasionally. Form before fashion, the only time I unloaded my pockets was when it was time to change the jeans I wore. Now? I'm working in an office every day, commuting by car constantly, taking graduate courses at night, and a few times a week attend fraternal organization meetings which require a formal suit and respectable appearance.

However, I'm still the guy who has to handle anything with a chaotic life to prepare for. So here I am settling into a new apartment and a new daily routine, trying to sort out what kind of gear I should still keep carrying, what I need to replace, and how to adapt it all to my new 'Mad Men' wardrobe and appearance requirements. I'll be breaking this down into categories to try and narrow down what I need.

How to carry-During the day I'm in dress slacks, a button down shirt and a tie. At night I pull on a sport jacket which has a minimum of two inside pockets and two outside pockets, a few of my blazers have more. I'm known for always carrying a pocket square for decoration, so the chest pocket is off limits. Some events I wear a vest for a full three-piece, I may relegate this for events where I'm on-duty in order to justify the extra pockets for administrative odds and ends.