Basic Fitness for Firearms Enthusiasts and Other Humans

Training questions, approaches and reports

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

TheLastOne
ZS Member
ZS Member

Basic Fitness for Firearms Enthusiasts and Other Humans

Post by TheLastOne » Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:20 pm

Alright, I've tossed the idea around for a basic fitness thread for people doing firearms classes since last summer's Milcopp. Several people had concerns about being in 'good enough shape' to bust out a 3 day class.

Here's the first indicator you may be out of shape: A THREE DAY CLASS OF MOSTLY STANDING AROUND HAS YOU WORRIED! Don't get me wrong, there's running back and forth and going to lunch, but mostly you are going to be standing. I stand for a living, and I'm good at it. You may sit for a living, and I bet you are way better at that than me!

So, here's my two cents on some things that may help motivate you towards better fitness in general, and for sure enable you to handle a 3 day Firearms Training Program.

First thing first:
I'm a guy on the internet. I'm not a professional trainer nor trainee, and I'm sure as fuck not your doctor. If you think you might die, don't do this stuff. You should probably talk to your doctor even if you thing you probably won't die, because all the commercials on tv say so. I am, however, enthusiastic about being more than half-way fit. I think of it as being in 'fighting shape'. If you've ever boxed, you know 3 minutes of fighting is a hell of a cardiovascular event.

I like to keep myself in shape where I can fight many minutes and die from being hit, stabbed, or shot, but NOT from a fucking heart attack 45 seconds into trying to save my own ass. Winning is a great goal, but I'm usually pretty stoked if I don't die from choking on my own vomit or needing CPR. Your goals may vary.

Concessions: