The Jakarta Pandemic: "Surburban Warfare".

Reviews of books, manuals or other texts.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

Omega DR
Favorite Zombie Movies: Dawn of the Dead (remake), Night of the Living Dead(1990), The Zombie Dairies, 28 Days Later

The Jakarta Pandemic: "Surburban Warfare".

Post by Omega DR » Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:23 am

I just finished "Jakarta Pandemic" , a slightly different take on the typical SHTF global pandemic story. There are many books featuring the ultra-squared away Prepper and his family, facing off the hordes of looter, cannibals and bikers, this book takes a slightly different angle. Still has the squared-away Prepper but this time the enemy is mainly his less prepared neighbors and refugees, desperate to provide for their own families.
And unlike most of the books in this genre, I could personally relate to the protagonist, a Former Marine and Iraqi War Vet, who currently worked in the Pharma Industry. ( I'm a Gulf War Vet and work in the Pharm Industry). This guy has been a prepper for years and has tried to convince family and friends to do the same. As a Pharma Rep, he has stockpile Antibiotics and other drugs in preparation for SHTF/PAW ( real world: most, if not all Pharm Reps do this).
When the Pandemic turns for the worst and foods runs out, his unprepared neighbors want to use his home as their personal aid station and conflict ensures.
It brings up several relevant questions:
1. How much support should you give your neighbors and when to stop. Our hero has plenty of food for HIS family, but not the entire neighborhood.