How To Build An AK47

Forum dedicated for rifles and shotguns from basic to tactical.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

moab

How To Build An AK47

Post by moab » Mon Feb 27, 2012 2:11 am

As an introduction of sorts. I thought I would contribute something to the forums. Rather than take. I hope this helps some of you. If you have any questions. Please don't hesitate to ask. I'm a long term gun builder. But a short term Zombie Hunter. :) This is my second post here. I've spent the last two days reading in the gear section. And only gotten four pages in! So much great information. This site is incredible. I'm planning a long bug out from Socal to WA. And my weapon of choice is the AK47:

This is a practical guide to building an AK47. Some of the instruction links are mine. Some are to other builders information that I have found irreplaceable. I have blogged about this subject for some time. And I've built several AK's in my home shop. Using not much more than common tools and a press. It doesn't take a great deal of skill to build a rifle that rivals the commercial models that are out there. Only a good grasp of hand tools and basic mechanics. Here's one of the first ones I built:

****You can even build from the receiver up and not have it registered with anyone. Legally. Not only is this a great way to stock your own firearms collections - privately. It's a very useful trade skill should the shtf. ****

If you want to start building. This is how to start. I wish someone had pointed me in this direction when I started. So I've compiled every source of information and direction that will get you where you want to be - building AK's fast and the right way: