PSA AR-10 Handguard

Forum dedicated for rifles and shotguns from basic to tactical.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

lailr
Favorite Zombie Movies: 28 Days Later, I am Legend, Dawn of the Dead (original and remake)

PSA AR-10 Handguard

Post by lailr » Thu Jun 25, 2020 2:32 pm

So, My PSA Ar-10 Kit rifle I put together 8 months ago is ready for some upgrades. I'm looking for input on the hand guard. I want to be able to hang accessories off it, Bipod, canted offset sights, maybe a light. I have no experience with MLOK or KEYMOD systems, and lean toward just a regular rail set up. I understand that it has to be changed to a free floating barrel. Any suggestions out there? It's the 18 inch stainless mid-length if that makes a difference.

Does anyone have any experience with these different set-ups? What is the most cost effective set up out there? I'd like to have enough left over for better glass than the crappy Tasco that I pulled out of junk drawer.

MacWa77ace
Favorite Zombie Movies: The Omega Man, I Am Legend, Dawn of the Dead v1974.

Re: PSA AR-10 Handguard

Post by MacWa77ace » Fri Jun 26, 2020 9:39 am

If you've never used either before then all your attachments need to be changed to MLOCK or Keymod. So that's an additional cost to think about. As far as pricing the Keymod and MLOCK are very similar, apples to apples, for the rails themselves and for the attachment hardware. Or you can slap picatinny rail sections onto either -so you can use any old attachments you have or use QD mounts. But that defeats the purpose and they cost a little $ too.

MLOKs are slow to change or move stuff around IMO. And you have to make sure you have the lugs turned correctly. But you get a really clean and lower profile with an MLOCK attachment than picatinny. There is no QD for a direct MLOCK attachment that I know about. Again you'd have to put a picatinny section on the rail for QD.