Cloth Diapers & a Septic System ??'s

A place to discuss special considerations involved prepping and reacting to a disaster with children, pets and other family concerns.

Moderator: ZS Global Moderators

oakwoodforge

Post by oakwoodforge » Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:53 am

Anybody Do Cloth Diapers on a Septic System ? We are considering going cloth after we get through the first month or 2, but we are on a septic system - so No Chlorine Bleach... I've herd we could rinse then soak cloth diapers in a pail of white vinegar, or Oxy-clean & water then launder as normal with our septic friendly laundry soap. As this is our first child I have no first hand experience with cloth diapers. And the last thing I want to do is spend $10,000.00 replacing our septic system next spring. Has anybody done this ? Does Vinegar work ? or would Oxy-clean be better ? \

Thanks,

Jens

Chantrea
ZS Global Moderator
ZS Global Moderator
Favorite Zombie Movies: Uh...does Bubba Ho-Tep count? It's got Bruce Campbell in it!

Re: Cloth Diapers & a Septic System ??'s

Post by Chantrea » Wed Jul 20, 2011 10:16 am

We are on septic and cloth diapered all of our kids simultaneously. (My daughter was born 17 months before I had my twin sons, so there was quite a lot of diapering going on)